Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Managing size of Aperture library

I am a wedding photographer and shoot 10k-12k images per month. Other than latest projects, I move all my Master files to external drives, keeping only previews on my iMac. All my master files are always 'referenced'.

My concern is that the Aperture library itself is getting too large in size, its approx 70 GB. On expanding the library ('show package content), I notice that the Previews folder itself is 50+ GB.

- Do the preview files take up so much space?

- Is there a way to reduce the size of the Aperture library itself (without splitting the library into smaller ones n shifting them elsewhere)

How do others address this issue?

MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011), OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.4), Intel Core i7, 8 GB RAM, 500 GB HDD

Posted on Mar 15, 2014 2:49 AM

3 replies

Mar 15, 2014 3:58 AM in response to hibhaven

The database itself does not use up very much room. The Previews do. What size are your Previews?

You can delete them (do NOT do this from Finder), but without Previews you won't be able to email the Images or browse or share them via the OS X Media Browser. (I like to think of the Previews as _another_ back-up, albeit a reduced-in-quality one.) Your Library will retain small and large (1024 px) thumbnails of your Images.

Another set of files that can take up a lot of space in a Library are thumbnails and "head shots" used by Faces. Do you have Faces enabled?