Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iCloud KeyChain on iOS 7.1 stuck on pending

iCloud Keychain on iOS 7.1 keeps asking me to approve security code and when I write it, it asks me again. And keeps repeating. I chose approve from other device (I have a MBA) but nothing appeared on it. The Keychain button in iOS setting says pending.

What should I do to fix this?

iPhone 5, iOS 7.1, KeyChain works fine on my Mac

Posted on Mar 18, 2014 4:11 PM

15 replies

Jun 10, 2014 12:27 PM in response to griff w

Thanks griff w but unfortunately found nothing of help there.

"keeps asking me to approve security code and when I write it, it asks me again. And keeps repeating. I chose approve from other device (I have a MBA) but nothing appeared on it. The Keychain button in iOS setting says pending."

Exactly the same here.

The AppleSupport article is useless it skims by saying, "follow instructions on screen"

Essentially if you are stuck in this pending loop. You're stuck !

Aug 8, 2014 2:06 PM in response to AliCC

What you'll probably have to do is reset your keychain. you can do that by going to (on your Mac) System Preferences > iCloud > select Keychain (and enter your password) > Use Code... > Forgot Code? > Reset Keychain...

Then you can go ahead and recreate your keychain from any device of your choosing (Mac, iPhone, iPad).

The device you choose will have it's keychain data uploaded to iCloud and be the master keychain that the rest of your devices will then merge with.

-hope that helps

N.

User uploaded file

User uploaded file

User uploaded file

May 15, 2015 1:24 PM in response to broadwyfrog

I too am having the same issue and it started with iOS 8 on my iPhone 5s. Keychain will not turn "OFF" but will stay "Pending". Then about once a week I find a message on the phone saying I have to authorize Keychain. It doesn't matter if I type the code or authorize with another device it always fails.