Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

MY MAC MINI WHICH I PURCHASED USED HAS NO RECOVERY PARTITION

Im a Mac newbie, not a computer newbie since I have been a power PC user since 1985. But there are things that are extremely different with Mac. Windows for example, if I were to damage my boot drive, I could just pop in a USB drive that could boot that perticular version. Then it had 2 options. Install or repair. Often it was just a matter of maybe I changed hardware around. The disk or drive would repair the MBR and all was good. I just had the same thing happen to me with the Mac. I plugged in a 8 GB thumb drive and downloaded the latest version of OS X Mavericks. Not knowing what to do next, I clicked next. Picked the thumb drive. Then it restarted. Holy cow, nothing. Thank God I had a CCC of the original partition. Was able to boot the computer than went to the Disk manager and repaired my internal SSD. I do still have the second hard drive with the now updated clone of my working drive but I really wanted to use that drive which was the original 1TB drive from my mac mini. I replaced that one with a 250 GB SSD. Then I moved my HOME folder to a 3TB Promise Smartstore DS 4600. That unit has the Apple firewire 800 and so my mac mini is very fast. There was no way I could use the SSD for everything.

Anyway, drifting here. Is there a way like windows has to have a small partition on my SSD that should I screw something up like I did this morning, I can press some F button, a repair option comes up and Viola its all repaired with out having to plug in a different hard drive.

Mac mini, OS X Mavericks (10.9.1), I7 2.3ghz 16 gb ram SSD 240 GB 1TB

Posted on Mar 19, 2014 12:38 PM

4 replies

Mar 20, 2014 8:31 AM in response to Eustace Mendis