Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Old eMac Help? No OS 9

Thanks to ANYONE taking the time to answer this!

I have an OLD eMac Here are the specs:

eMac Model NO: A1002 EMC No.:1955

100V-120VAC, 3.5A, 50-60Hz

Mac OS X Version 10.3 Processor 1GHz PowerPC G4 Memory: 384MB

Serial Number: G8*******PPA

32-Bit Color

Speed: 400MB/Sec

I would like this old computer to be used by young children in a toy room - no internet just games. However, I went to install a few old cheap games that are compatible but require "classic os 9" to run.

There is NO "folder" or something for this. I assume the computer just doesn't have classic option. What can I do about this?

I am not experienced with mac, please talk to me like I am a moron. Thanks so much for your time in advance. I have 4 very anxious preschoolers! 🙂 PS - it will not update as it's so old.

<Personal Information Edited by Host>

Posted on Mar 20, 2014 3:02 PM

3 replies

Mar 20, 2014 3:20 PM in response to Jeniferleetroska

Hello Jenifer,

I think all eMacs required a special OS9 Install Disc, & there were 2 eMac/1.0 GHZ, one could boot OS9 or OSX, the other could only boot OSX & run OS9 under emulation in "Classic".

Many games do not work in "Classic" & need native OS9 booting.

You need the original Install Discs, or for "Classic" to work, copy a working install of OS9/s "System Folder" to the eMac, not to be confused with OSX's folder called "System". 🙂

Jun 16, 2014 1:53 PM in response to Jeniferleetroska

I think I might be able to help you. I too have an old eMac which I spent many years trying to figure out how to get classic OS 9 on it, and finally I figured it out. By the way, I've found Classic will work with most older games.

I just have a few questions:

1 When you double-click on an old game to install it, what happens? Does a message pop up?

2 Do you have any of the old apple-CDs that came with the computer?