Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Raw JPEG worth the space?

I'm just switching from JPEG to RAW format for my Canon EOS T3. I'm also fairly new to Aperture. There doesn't seem to be any problem importing the Raw files from my camera.

For my first test, I set my camera to Raw + JPEG. This mostly looks like a nuisance, since it wastes space and time. And I have to look at every image twice. So it's a brain waste too. :-)

But is there any value to keeping the JPEGS?

iMac, OS X Mavericks (10.9)

Posted on Mar 22, 2014 3:20 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 22, 2014 3:36 PM

I would argue no, there isn't, especially as Aperture can create a jpeg preview automatically on import. This mode does have its uses, and sometimes media shooters do this to have a jpeg to send immediately back to the office. Other than that, I'm not sure I see the value. YMMV

5 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Mar 22, 2014 3:36 PM in response to tahm77

I would argue no, there isn't, especially as Aperture can create a jpeg preview automatically on import. This mode does have its uses, and sometimes media shooters do this to have a jpeg to send immediately back to the office. Other than that, I'm not sure I see the value. YMMV

Mar 23, 2014 11:03 AM in response to tahm77

For my first test, I set my camera to Raw + JPEG. This mostly looks like a nuisance, since it wastes space and time. And I have to look at every image twice. So it's a brain waste too. :-)

But is there any value to keeping the JPEGS?

First of all, if you already imported RAW & JPEG pairs, the question is moot, since there is no safe way to remove the JPEGs from the pair other than exporting the RAW riginals, then deleting the pair, and reimporting the RAW original file - a lot of work.