Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Why won't my wireless mouse connect to Bluetooth?

My Bluetooth-operated mouse, which I've been using for at least 6 months, has stopped working on my iMac (2009 version). It simply lost connection from one second to the next, and I haven't been able to reconnect for weeks. (And yes, I put new batteries.) I know the Bluetooth on my computer is fine, because my wireless keyboard and speakers are connected just fine via Bluetooth. I tried turning the mouse off, and then on a few minutes later. I also tried turning off Bluetooth on my computer and then turning it back on in an attempt to "reboot" it. I also tried restarting the entire computer. I also opened Disk Utility to "verify and repair" disk in case there was any damage of some sort that was causing the problem. And when I went to test the mouse itself on a different computer (which is one of the older version iMacs that are plastic white and thick and have a smallish screen), the mouse connected to the Bluetooth there and worked perfectly. It's been very frustrating to use an older mouse with a short cord and the little ball-scrolling-thingie that doesn't work when I scroll down, only up.

When I try connecting the mouse to my iMac, I get one of two results. 1) Up until right before I submitted this question, the Bluetooth settings showed that the mouse "connected" but there's no response on screen when I move the mouse. After 5 or so seconds, it says "disconnected". 2) More recently, when I try pairing the mouse, it doesn't even connect at all anymore. I get the small yellow exclamation-mark-triangle error message, saying it can't connect to my mouse. What can I do, short of buying a new mouse? These wireless mice are too expensive, and I'd really like to resolve the issue with this one.

Posted on Mar 23, 2014 6:51 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 24, 2014 7:14 AM