Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

applescript to move email attachments

i am new to mac and have no clue how to make a script

i want to have all my email attachments from one sender go to a folder on my network drive and automaticly print all pdf's any help would be greatly appreciated

MacBook Air, iOS 7.1

Posted on Mar 25, 2014 9:01 PM

17 replies

Mar 26, 2014 7:16 AM in response to markgbb

The first part of your request is straigthforward enough. Here's an applescript that will move the attachments. Read the instructions carefully so you understand how it works:

Automatically save Mail attachments using AppleScript | AppleScript ...

The second part of your request is more complicated as it depends on a number of things we don't know:

i. is the network folder on a mac or a pc machine?

ii. if it's on a mac, do you have admin permissions?

iii. what is your default pdf software?

Mar 26, 2014 5:46 PM in response to softwater

cant get the script to work tried to set it up on my local drive

on perform_mail_action(ruleData)

-- The folder to save the attachments in (must already exist)

set attachmentsFolder to ((path to home folder as text) & "users:mark:dwg") astext

-- Save in a sub-folder based on the name of the rule in Mail

set subFolder to name of |Rule| of ruleData as text

tell application "Finder"

if not (existsfoldersubFolder of folderattachmentsFolder) then

makenewfolderatattachmentsFolderwith properties {name:subFolder}

end if

end tell

-- Get incoming messages that match the rule

tell application "Mail"

set selectedMessages to |SelectedMessages| of ruleData

repeat with theMessage in selectedMessages

-- Get the date the message was sent

set {year:y, month:m, day:d, hours:h, minutes:min} to theMessage'sdate sent

set timeStamp to ("" & y & "-" & my pad(m as integer) & "-" & my pad(d) & "-" & my pad(h) & "-" & my pad(min))

-- Save the attachment