Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Sudden problem with connectivity using iPhone and kindle but macbook is fine.

I have been using the same Time Capsule for at least 3 years without a problem. Two days ago, I began having connectivity and speed issues using the WiFi - but only on my iphone and kindle. My Macbook still seems to be just fine. Was there a software update or something that happened April 1, 2014? Or is there something else I should be looking into to fix this problem

My iphone and kindle do seem to connect - most times - but the download time is extremely slow. Unusably slow.

iPhone 4S, iOS 7.1

Posted on Apr 3, 2014 7:09 AM

4 replies

Apr 3, 2014 2:29 PM in response to GMPToons

No update that I know of but a neighbour may have just bought a fancy new high power wifi rig.

Go to the TC and change the wireless setup.

If you are not already using wireless names that are short, no spaces and pure alphanumeric then I do commend it.. but that is not crucial if the system has been working.

Go to the setup wireless options and wireless channels.. test the channels for 2.4ghz, use in this order.. 11, 8, 6, 1 and see if you get improvement on any of those.

Apr 4, 2014 12:50 PM in response to LaPastenague

LaPastenague,

Thanks for the reply. This is a baffling problem to me. I did try the things you recommended to no avail.

I do have my system setup with good names and password protection. And I live kind of 'in the middle of nowhere' and this time of year have virtually NO neighbors to interfere with my signal.

If I may ask a couple more questions:

Am I understanding correctly that there are actually TWO networks setup here? One is a 5ghz and the other 2.4ghz? So, that may explain why my laptop works since it connects to the 5ghz network. Ufortuanately, whenever I try to use my other wireless devices it also knocks out that network too.