Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Questions about iTunes

I come from a Windows background. I got my first Mac (a mini) in June of last year & I'm still learning.

I just upgraded my mini to Mavericcks.

I have about 200 music CDs. I want to do 2 things. I want to rip all of them in a universal (Mac, Windows, Linux) uncompressed format for archiving & I want to rip all of them in a high-bitrate MP3 format onto a flash drive or hard drive so that I can take my music with me when I travel or just to listen to in my car.

This morning, I ripped a couple of ABBA CDs. I noticed that some of the tracks are listed twice in iTunes & some are not. Why?

I'll have to get books on iTunes.

I'll bet that the next question will start a long discussion!

I can't decide between .wav & .aiff. Both will play on Windows & Apple machines. Currently, I have an Apple, but I'd also like to have a Windows machine probably using VMWare or some such program.

Windowphiles would probably swear by .wav & Applephiles would probably swear by .aiff. I've researched .wav versus .aiff & there are supporters & opponents of each.

I read on the 'net that a backup copy of .wav loses its metadata, but backups of .aiff retain their metadata. I watched a YouTube video where someone compared .wav & .aiff by inverting one of the two & then playing both. There was silence showing that the two are sonically the same. I'll bet there will be a long discussion on that! Has anybody had the experience of copying a .wav file & the copy doesn't have any metadata? Based on what I've read so far, I'd prefer .aiff to .wav.

Thank you,

David

Mac mini (Late 2012), OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.4)

Posted on Apr 3, 2014 7:39 AM

17 replies

Apr 3, 2014 8:17 AM in response to macnerd48