Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

chkrootkit

Hi All-

I want to check my macbook pro (OSX) for rootkits i.e. make sure sniperspy or similar keylogger is not running on my computer.

The problem is I am not a programmer, but it appears that chkrootkit has to be installed using code and terminal.

Would anyone be able to share step-by-step instruction on how to install chkrootkit? http://www.chkrootkit.org/download/

Thank you

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.5)

Posted on Apr 8, 2014 12:42 PM

7 replies

Apr 8, 2014 1:06 PM in response to green apple 8

Unless you're willing to audit the source code — and while I have no reason to doubt the intent of the folks that created that tool, nor am I aware of any issues with that code — you probably don't generally want to download and run these sorts of tools. If you're not in a position to audit the code, then you'll want to get somebody that can audit it for you. (You're going to end up providing your administrative password to this tool, which means this tool can do anything to your system.)

You can very badly mess up your system with add-ons, performance- or security-enhancing tools, anti-virus and related packages. If the tool you've chosen and downloaded happens to hostile (or has been compromised by somebody that's hostile), then you could well be loading malware.

If you really want an anti-malware tool beyond the built-in XProtect detection mechanisms, there are reputable commercial choices.

There are available choices for tools that are newer than 2009, as well. Malware has changed since then, as has OS X. Again without knowing details of that tool, I'd expect it might miss some stuff, and it might also need to be reworked to operate with more recent versions of OS X — you're likely going to need to support it, not just run it...

In general...