Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

is the apple maintenance plan worth it?

So I am trying to improve my internet speed. All of the other computers in my house test at around 16mb/s but my macbook only gets around 2or 3. I called apple support and they said that my macbook is slow and in need of maintenance and that it would cost $200 a year for the support to get my comp up to optimal speeds. I can’t afford that right now and was wondering if it is really worth it or if they are just trying to sell maintenance plans. What are my options here? I am a broke college student but I rely on my laptop for school. Should I just save up for the plan or is it possible to clean up my mac on my own? Sorry if I am not following proper edict on this board this is my first post.

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted on Apr 9, 2014 10:08 PM

9 replies

Apr 9, 2014 10:27 PM in response to xxpiroxx

I never heard if any Apple plan that required an annual fee. During the original warranty period, one can buy AppleCare which extends the original warranty.

The Internet connection speed is affected by many factors. I would search these forums for suggestions. If you are near an Apple store, make a Genius Bar appointment. Diagnosis is free (repairs, if any, are not).

Barry

Apr 9, 2014 11:05 PM in response to xxpiroxx

Could you post a link to the number you called? Did you find it by googling? There are people who claim to be Apple support, but they're not. The number for Apple support in the US is 800-275-2273.

Apple's products are either covered by warranty or, if they're not, they will charge an approx. $35 tech support fee for the phone call).

And, if you have a problem you can take your Mac to the nearest Apple store Genius Bar and the diagnosis is free.

Apr 10, 2014 5:52 PM in response to xxpiroxx