Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How best to go about recovering data from Drive that can't be repaired

Hi,

My Imac HD is corrupted and it cannot be repaired and it says to restore /backup files.

I need to try and salvage my music folders. I have have just purchased a new Imac, can I use that as an external HD to connect to the old imac and transfer files? Can Target Disc Mode work if I purchase a Firewire cable? I'm tired and confused as to the best and most simple way to salvage some of my data.

My old Imac: Mountain Lion 10.8.5, 4gb ram, 2.4ghz core........I'm a noob and out of my depth and frankly my head is spinning.

I think I have several options but I'm unsure.

When I turn on the old Imac, I can get to Disc Utility if I the hold option key, I have verified and tried to repair.

What is the simplest way or ways to salvage this problem.

Thanks

iMac (27-inch, Late 2012), OS X Mountain Lion (10.8.5)

Posted on Apr 12, 2014 7:32 AM

5 replies

Apr 14, 2014 9:19 AM in response to StamfordBrook

Hello StamfordBrook,

Target Disk mode is likely to be your best option with regard to transferring any data from the old mac to the new Mac. Both of your iMacs, however, have Thunderbolt ports rather than FireWire ports, and will require a Thunderbolt cable. Putting the old iMac into Target Disk Mode and connecting the systems will cause the old iMac to appear as an external hard drive on the new Mac.

OS X Mavericks: Transfer files between two computers using target disk mode

http://support.apple.com/kb/PH13842

Apple Thunderbolt Cable (2.0 m) - White

http://store.apple.com/us/product/MD861ZM/A/apple-thunderbolt-cable-20-m?fnode=5 1

Cheers,

Allen

Apr 14, 2014 11:05 AM in response to CarlAVII

Hi Allen,