Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Is there a formula to create a seating plan from an exisiting table

Hi all,

I was hoping to get some help using Numbers to create a table seating plan using my guest lists in Numbers.

I have a master list for guests which includes their names, addresses and contact details. I was hoping to add another colum to that master list with table numbers and then have another table with the guests names in a list for each table.

Is there a formula i can use to look up the names from TableA and copy them into TableB? So when I change the table numbers on the master list it will add them into TableB? Not sure if it is possible but many thanks for your help!

(Excuse the silly tables... I'm a kindy teacher...)

TableA

Name 1Surname 2Address 3table number 4
JohnSmiththe woods1
PeterPanNeverland2
CinderellaCharmingGlass Slipper Castle1
PrinceCharmingGlass Slipper Castle1
ArielThe Sea2
Cruella divilleOld House3

Table B

Table 1Table 2Table 3
John SmithPeter PanCruella Diville
CinderellaAriel
Prince Charming

MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010), Mac OS X (10.7.5)

Posted on Apr 14, 2014 3:16 PM

9 replies

Apr 14, 2014 7:50 PM in response to memsfromsydney

User uploaded file

The formulas are in the second table, named "Tables".

In cell B2 (where is now says John Smith in the screen shot), Paste from this post:

=IFERROR(OFFSET(Data::$A$1,MATCH(B$1&$A2, Data::$D,0)−1 ,0)&" "&OFFSET(Data::$A$1,MATCH(B$1&$A2, Data::$D,0)−1 ,1),"-")

Copy that cell and Paste to all the body cells (where the names are to go).

That's it. Just be sure to name your tables exactly as I did, Data and TABLES.

Jerry

Apr 14, 2014 8:20 PM in response to Jerrold Green1

Jerry,