Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Airport Extreme/Express Q

I am new to Mac. I am looking at the Airport Family. I understand ? that the Airport Extreme will allow my current wifi to improve AND I can print wirelessly from printers. BUT what I cant understand is .... does the Airport Extreme need to be plugged into my current wifi modem to make it improve. My printer is nowhere near my modem ... and I want to print wirelessly, but Im reading I need to plug my printer into it - cant seem to do both if they are in separate spots. Also, I have two printers Id like to connect .. can this do it?

Posted on Apr 14, 2014 3:11 PM

17 replies

Apr 15, 2014 8:47 AM in response to leanne5725

The AirPort Extreme does not have a built-in modem and one will still be required for Internet access. Typically the Extreme would be directly connected to the modem using an Ethernet cable.

If your current modem is actually a combination modem & wireless router, you could (potentially) disable the router portion.

If your overall goal is to make your current printer "wireless" and be able to print to it from anywhere in your house, you should also consider the AirPort Express base station.

In this case you would configure the Express to join the existing wireless network provided by your combination modem/router. In turn, the printer would be connected to the Express using a USB cable.

Apr 15, 2014 3:53 PM in response to Tesserax

Thanks. Yes, my goal is to be able to print wirelessly from anywhere. So does that mean I get the Airport Extreme and plug that in by ethernet cable to the Telstra Modem/Router, and then get the Airport Express and that will connect wirelessly (in another spot near my printer) and then connect the printer to the Airport Express - and then .... .. this will allow me to print wirelessly.

Apr 15, 2014 3:59 PM in response to Tesserax