Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do you run apps for PowerPC G3 processors on a PowerBook G4?

Hi!

I'm new to the Apple community, and I'm trying to run the PPC compatible version of Wine on my PowerBook G4 (which can be found here), but when I open the .dmg and open the installer, it opens an error window saying "You can't open the application 'Install Wine' because it is not supported on this architecture."

Is this because the application is meant to run on computers with a PowerPC G3 processor and mine has a G4? How can I install it?

I have attached a screenshot of the error message.

User uploaded file

Mac OS X (10.5.8)

Posted on Apr 23, 2014 8:58 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Apr 23, 2014 1:03 PM

I looked at the site and there are two versions for PPC Macs. One is for universal install and one for PPC. I would use the PPC version as it doesn't have an installer but is simply dragged to your applications folder.

User uploaded file

User uploaded file

12 replies

Apr 24, 2014 11:07 AM in response to dalstott

I found this on the Wine WIKI.

http://wiki.winehq.org/MacOSX#head-4512daf5d3c971ad7caca22cf4d2cc0e0d65fc5e

PowerPC Mac

In 2002, the OpenDarwin people created the Darwine project to integrate the processor-emulator QEMU with a Mac OS-compatible version of Wine in order to run Win32 EXEs on PowerPC. The group succeeded in porting Wine from ELF to Mach-0. Integration of the x86 emulator was not worth the trouble of byteswapping (big endian <-> little endian), which was too much work.

• Qemu-Darwin-user allows Mac OS X/Intel Applications to run on Mac OS X/PowerPC. It's conceptually similar to doing the opposite of Rosetta and was therefore referred to as "Attesor".