1 Reply Latest reply: Apr 27, 2014 12:01 AM by Terence Devlin
Acg17 Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

When I first uploaded pictures to my Mac from my iPhone, it asked me if I wanted it to delete the pictures off of my phone as they uploaded, and I said yes.Now, every time I upload pictures, all the pictures from my phone get deleted as they sync onto the computer. I cannot figure out how to stop this and IPhoto does not give me the option to change it. I want to be able to sync the photos to my computer without them being deleted from my phonee. Can anyone help me?


MacBook Pro
  • Terence Devlin Level 10 Level 10 (129,315 points)

    Try trash the com.apple.iPhoto.plist file from the HD/Users/ Your Name / library / preferences folder.

     

    (On 10.7 or later: Hold the option (or alt) key while clicking on the Go menu in Finder to access the User Library)

     

    (Remember you'll need to reset your User options afterwards. These include minor settings like the window colour and so on. Note: If you've moved your library you'll need to point iPhoto at it again.)

     

    What's the plist file?

     

    For new users: Every application on your Mac has an accompanying plist file. It records certain User choices. For instance, in your favourite Word Processor it remembers your choice of Default Font, on your Web Browser is remembers things like your choice of Home Page. It even recalls what windows you had open last if your app allows you to pick up from where you left off last. The iPhoto plist file remembers things like the location of the Library, your choice of background colour, whether you are running a Referenced or Managed Library, what preferences you have for autosplitting events and so on. Trashing the plist file forces the app to generate a new one on the next launch, and this restores things to the Factory Defaults. Hence, if you've changed any of these things you'll need to reset them. If you haven't, then no bother. Trashing the plist file is Mac troubleshooting 101.