Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Does gps function work on ipad air with wifi only and no internet connection?

I am new to Apple hardwares and am planning to buy an ipad air with wifi only and have following questions:

1. Does gps function work on ipad air with wifi only and no internet connection?

2. Does ipad air already have gps navigation software installed? I am looking for turn by turn voice announcement.

3. How to download maps? and which countries are included in the maps?

Thanks a lot for your help in advance.

iPad

Posted on May 8, 2014 11:02 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 8, 2014 11:05 AM

The WiFi-only models have to have a WiFi connection to receive the GPS signal, so without that you cannot get a turn-by-turn guidance. The iPad comes with Maps installed, I have used mine in the US and in France and in Austria...can't say about any other countries but assume they are available.

24 replies

May 9, 2014 10:45 AM in response to tk5039

If I get ipad air with wifi+cellular, does it come with navigation software for turn by turn voice announcement without internet connection and cellular plan?

No. The only nav software the iPad comes with is the Maps app and it requires real-time downloading of maps. There ae several nav apps that have built-in maps, i.e. Navigon. Google for nav app reviews.

Dec 2, 2014 8:39 PM in response to tk5039

Its very strange but I have an iPad Air (wifi only) and have just driven all over Phuket Island (on holiday in Thailand) without being connected to wifi and the gps knew where I was the whole time. Everything I've read said it doesn't work so I'm trying to find out why it did for me!

I connected to the wifi at hotel and planned a driving route. Once I left the hotel the wifi dropped out of range but the GPS followed me around the entire island. I could tell where I was at all times.