Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to change Gmail notification sound

I am new to using the Apple operating system, and I recently got an iPad mini. For the most part I am figuring it out, but I am having trouble with the sound that notifies me I have a new Gmail, and I have missed a couple important messages. I do get a low chime when I get a Gmail, but even when I am in the same room sometimes I miss hearing this.

In the settings, in the notifications section, it looks like I have chosen the Popcorn sound. I wanted this because this is longer and harder to miss, but, it still only sounds a single low chime when I get a gmail. I have gone to the gmail tab of the notifications section, and it looks like everything is turned on, but nothing I do changes the notification sound. I also found the option to get several notifications spaced a couple minutes apart for new mail, and I thought I set that up as it seemed it would also help, but that has not worked either.

Is it possible to select a different sound to notify me when I have a new gmail? what am I doing wrong?

iPad mini Wi-Fi, iOS 7.1.1

Posted on May 14, 2014 6:31 PM

14 replies

Jan 29, 2017 2:34 PM in response to robdrage

Look, people. The reason we use the Gmail app instead of apple's mail app is because the mail app won't allow push notifications for gmail - just fetch. So if we want to be alerted whenever we get a new email, we MUST use the gmail app. Either that, or wait up to an hour, or wait less time and watch the battery drain with more frequent fetches.

Why don't we just use our iCloud email addresses? Because gmail is portable. If you switch to android or pc, it's much easier to stay connected to gmail than iCloud. Remember. It's Apple we're taking about. Closed stystem. Proprietary everything. Apple does not work well and play well with others (gmail, Amazon, etc). It's just the way it is.