Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

20" or 23" Cinema Display for Photography

I'm ready to upgrade my old 17" Studio Display (not lcd) to either the 20" or 23" CD. As a photographer, I'm looking for the best colour and consistency. Any comments on which is better, and is the 23" really that much bigger in use?

G5/Dual 2.0/eMac G4, Mac OS X (10.4.4)

Posted on Sep 3, 2006 6:29 AM

10 replies

Sep 7, 2006 1:38 PM in response to mykguilbault

I'm ready to upgrade my old 17" Studio Display (not
lcd) to either the 20" or 23" CD. As a photographer,
I'm looking for the best colour and consistency. Any
comments on which is better, and is the 23" really
that much bigger in use?

Along with prices the monitors themselves changed recently. Numerous folks on the Photoshop forums have made positive comments about the 23". Note that the 23" is 1/3 brighter and IMO a better monitor. I am ordering a 23" (main) and a 20" (palettes) with a new system soon but would order two 23" if I had the space. IMO the extra size and pixels make the 23" very much worth the extra $300.

Regarding size in use note that the new wide screen format makes the sizes seem smaller. For portrait-oriented images the 23" definitely "feels" better than a 20"; 30" even better but you need sufficient work space.

-Allen Wicks

Sep 7, 2006 4:16 PM in response to mykguilbault