Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Trash won't empty

In an effort to quickly remove the files from a previous Time Machine drive (that I didn't need to reformat), I just moved the folders to Trash. This worked fine as far as removing the folders from the drive, but now I can't empty the Trash. I have no idea how many folders/files are in Trash, but there are probably 250 GB worth. I've tried Trash It, which has always worked in the past, but even it locks up when asked to delete this data from Trash. I would appreciate any ideas...thanks.

iMac, OS X Mavericks (10.9)

Posted on May 26, 2014 2:59 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 26, 2014 4:10 PM

It's a common problem. The only way out that I know of is to erase the volume.

14 replies

May 26, 2014 4:37 PM in response to tbirdvet

tbirdvet, I'll give it a try, but won't hold my breath. I've been using Macs forever and I'm a retired developer and geek...no where have I ever read to NOT do this. Obviously, it's something I shouldn't have done, but if it's such a critical issue, perhaps Apple might want to add a warning about it somewhere in the Time Machine documentation. I'll let you know what happens, but using secure empty trash takes so long anyway, I'm sure for 250 GB of data it will take a week or so...if it even works.

May 26, 2014 5:00 PM in response to Linc Davis

Linc, let me explain in more detail.

1. The TM backup volume was being used by an old iMac.

2. I bought her a new iMac and "manually" reconfigured everything...not by using the TM backup.

3. Everything was fine until I plugged the TM drive in so I could delete the files. I got the tutorial asking if I wanted to use that volume for a TM backup...I said NO...then I trashed all the folders on the TM drive.