Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Script to map Network shares

Hi,

We have several MAC desktops and laptops in our organisation. I am looking for a script for mapping drives based on users group membership. I have searched in internet and found below script to map network drives but how to get the logged in users group membership. Can someone please help me to create a script as I am very new to MAC.

• tell application "Finder"
  • try
  • mount volume "smb://" & user_name & "@server/" & user_name & ""
  • end try
  • end tell

MacBook Pro, iOS 6.1.6

Posted on May 28, 2014 5:17 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 28, 2014 5:23 PM

I'm going to assume you're referring to mounting the shares here, and not trying to map the network and to figure out which shares are present.

There are various ways to implement the mount; using login items is one possibility.

There are other approaches, such as configuring a profile for scripts that are run at login, too — if you have more than a few Mac systems around, then Apple would manage these via profiles or (maybe) via the older and increasingly-deprecated Open Directory MCX support.

3 replies
Question marked as Best reply

May 28, 2014 5:23 PM in response to SukhwinderSingh

I'm going to assume you're referring to mounting the shares here, and not trying to map the network and to figure out which shares are present.

There are various ways to implement the mount; using login items is one possibility.