Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Newsroom Update

Apple Music today announced the release of its 100 Best Albums of all time, a list crafted by Apple Music’s experts alongside industry professionals. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I stop iTunes from splitting up albums?

I'm new to iTunes and trying to import my music folder. How do I keep iTunes from splitting up an album, based on artist?

One album could have 5 artists that causes iTunes to make 5 folders. I do not want this. Because I have over 100 albums, this makes finding complete albums, very hard.

- "Keep iTunes Media folder organized" and "Copy Files to iTunes Media Folder" are both unchecked.

iPhone 4S

Posted on Jun 5, 2014 8:33 AM

17 replies

Nov 23, 2017 5:01 PM in response to DocStephens

I do much the same for classical music. The composer is more significant than the artist. Over the years I've written a number of scripts for managing bulk changes which can be found at http://samsoft.org.uk/iTunes/scripts.asp.

With the possible exception of reviving the original metadata for purchases, which is a side effect of the way that iTunes handles your purchase history, iTunes doesn't normally change the details. What it may do is reveal data that has been changed by other software. See Getting iTunes & Windows Media Player to play nicely for a possible explanation.

tt2

Apr 4, 2017 1:51 PM in response to techyguy717