Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Adding AC3 surround mix to ProRes

Hi team,

I'm a complete newbie to Compressor, and I do not have Final Cut on my system. I was looking for advice on how to achieve the following (or even if Compressor is the right tool for the job at all). I'm trying to avoid outlaying heaps of $$ just to generate one MOV.

Background: I need to deliver a master file to a distributor in ProRes 4444. They have not stipulated the audio format, but I already have an AC3 Surround Mix file, and individual audio files for each surround channel in any format you could want. Plus my Master video file has its own Stereo mix built in.

My Goal: to Create a ProRes 4444 file, with both a Stereo and a Surround mix built into it.

Question 1: Does Compressor operate as a stand-alone application without FCP? (I have a ProRes output codec from a 3rd party)

Question 2: Is it possible/desirable to include an AC3 mix in a ProRes MOV for the distributor? This resource suggests it is possible for m4v, but that's not ProRes:

https://developer.apple.com/library/mac/qa/qa1604/_index.html

Question 3: Is Compressor the right tool for the job? And if so, does anyone have a link to resources on how it is done?

Sorry for all the questions! And thanks in advance for your input.

Ent.

Compressor

Posted on Jun 15, 2014 5:53 AM

6 replies

Jun 17, 2014 7:16 AM in response to Entilza

1. Yes. Compressor 4.1.1 is a stand alone app. You need to be running Mavricks (OSX 10.9) to install it.

2a. ProRes is an editing codec not a delivery one (and why to they want a 4444 format?)

2b/3 Quicktime Pro 7 is able to marry an audio file to a video file.

• make a copy of the video file (so if you screw up you haven't ruined your only copy)

• open the audio file and the backup video file

• Highlight the audio file window and press Command + A (select all) then Command + C (copy)