Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I've run out of Application Memory - can I get a memory upgrade?

I'm new to apple and purchased my first iMac in late 2013. It's the 21.5" model. I have started to get an alert telling me that I've run out of application memory. When this happens, everything I have open gets paused and even when I try to resume them, it won’t. Sometimes everything just freezes. The only option I have is to restart the mac by pressing the on/off button.

I checked the Activity Monitor and it shows that the Physical Memory is 8.00GB. The Memory Used is almost maxed out at 7.99GB. The Virtual Memory right now is 14GB and Swap Used is on 130mb. Memory Pressure is in the green at the moment but i notice this goes red when things are about to freeze up.

The majority of my activity is online and I work with a LOT of Safari pages open (hundreds and hundreds) All these pages are remembered everytime I restart the mac. I also dip into note applications and Photoshop but it’s the Safari web content that is taking up all the memory. I have to say that the mac isn't actually slow - it's just as fast as it was when I first got it and really only slows for a few seconds before it's about to pause all the applications.

I have today bookmarked and closed a lot of the pages but my Memory is as stated above. What can I do? I had a browse online and it says memory can’t be upgraded even though I could have had 16GB if I had purchased that in the first place. I didn’t know the 8GB was going to be insufficient…. Can I get the memory upgraded if I take my mac to the Apple store? Would they do it on the same day or would it have to be sent off?