Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Could This (new discussion format) Be Any Worse?

I've been participating in the Apple support forums for a good many years. They have been very useful and I've supplied a number of useful support answers. But now it's pretty much all gone. It's very difficult to find specific things and it's now impossible to see, at a glance, how many people have both viewed and replied to individual threads. That's critical for identifying big issues--especially those that accompany a signficiant operating system upgrade. Further, the text is so large that much less information can be displayed on a computer display. Finally, when you go to Apple Support your display is completely taken up by big square blocks--can you say "Windows R/T?" I guess all good things come to an end.

The best that Apple Discussions ever was was two changes ago. The previous iteration was tolerable even though it was confusing for newbies.

Posted on Jun 21, 2014 10:42 AM

198 replies

Jun 22, 2014 3:06 AM in response to PlotinusVeritas

The Kindle help forum uses the same setup & that too makes it impossible to see which are new questions or which have new replies, this & the new Apple forum setup seems more of a step backwards rather than an advance.

I've noticed that since the change on the Kindle help forum many of the users who helped people no longer post due to the change.

On a personal note the problems for me are as follows: can't see which are new posts or which have been updated, now the pages have a 'more' button while this seems a positive step if you read a post & then go back to the discussions list it doesn't go back to the page/post you were viewing so you have to click on 'more' again which gives you a new set of posts rather than the ones you were originally looking at.

The only positive is that now there's no delay when typing a message.