Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Whenever I connect a USB hard drive to my MacBook Air the WiFi breaks

Hi everyone. This is my first time asking a question on these forums, so please forgive me is I leave something important out.

Two weeks ago I bought a MacBooks Air (yay!) with 500GB SSD and 8GB RAM. It's been having a very strange problem. Sometimes the WiFi just breaks. Either the Airport icon will go gray and any attempts to connect to WiFi will give timeout errors, or the airport icon will stay solid but no apps will be able to access the internet. I've called AppleCare multiple times, and we've tried going into the Library folder and change a system file to file-old and deleting the WiFi passwords in the keychain. Neither one solves the problem.

What does solve the problem, though, is unplugging a USB hard drive that I have attached. At first I thought that there was a hardware problem with the Orico USB 2.5 in. HDD enclosure that I was using, but the problem is identical with the Sabrent 3.5in. enclosure that I also use. The problem stops instantly as soon as I unplug the drive. I'll enter a URL in Chrome, and Chrome will show the spinning circle indicating that it's downloading the page, but nothing happens no matter how long I wait (eventually Chrome will say that it cannot connect to the internet). But the very second that I unplug the drive the page loads. I can repeat this phenomenon, so it wasn't just a one-time coincidence. I should also note that when the WiFi breaks the Finder (and PathFinder) also lock up and become unresponsive. As before, the moment I unplug the USB HDD they unfreeze and work normally.

I should note that one time this occurred I had two USB HDD devices attached to an AmazonBasics USB 3.0 hub. I unplugged each HDD individually, but nothing happened. The system "unbroke" the moment I unplugged the USB hub.