8 Replies Latest reply: Jul 5, 2014 11:30 AM by mac midiguy
mac midiguy Level 1 (60 points)

I replaced a 3200GB HitachiI  Deskstar drive in my  MacAlly model PHR-S100SUA FireWire/USB 2.0 enclosure with a brand new seagate barracuda 1 TB drive.

However it does not show up on the desktop of my iMac 3.06 GHz Intel OS X version 10.9.3.

The 320 GB drive worked perfectly but i needed more GB's storage space.

What do i do to mount the Seagate. Disk Utility and Disk Warrior do not "see" it.

Please help. Please note that this is my first time ever for doing this. I thought it was a simple unplug/remove then install and plug in the power and data cords for the new drive.

• Mike Sombrio Level 6 (14,856 points)

in order to use the drive you need to partition and format it for use with your Mac. http://macs.about.com/od/applications/ss/diskutilformat.htm

But if the drive isn't showing up in Disk Utility you either have a bad drive, a problem with the enclosure or a bad cable.

• mac midiguy Level 1 (60 points)

Thanks for your interest/reply to my problem.

I used a different firewire cable and that brought a response whereby I could use Disk Utilities to Partition the Seagate drive.  However the partition failed with the error: Disk object invalid or unable to serialize.
    At this point the drive is no longer recognized by Disk Utility.

Now what can I do ?

HHave you tried it with a USB cable instead?

Good suggestion. I just tried with a USB cable and Disk Utilities  pops the message file "Disk erase failed with the error message:  system formatter failed. "

Bad, Bad disk ?

Heading down to my local Staples store for a replacement of this $90. hard drive. Most unusual because this is the second Seagate that has gone bad for me.  The first was a Apple recall on my iMac's 1TB internal hard drive not too long ago.