Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Reconfigure USB 2 to USB 3 because USB 2 is plugged in first.

So I have a MBA Mid 2013 Model customize 1.7 8GB bought this June 2014. And I read in apple that:

How do I get the best performance from the USB 3 ports?
The first device you plug in will configure the port, so always connect USB 3 capable hubs or devices first.

What happens if I plug in a USB 2 device into the USB 3 port first?
If you plug in a USB 2 hub first, all devices connected or "daisy-chained" to that hub will operate up to the maximum transfer rate of USB 2 speed (480 Mbps).

From what I understood, If you plugged the USB 2 on the MBA USB 3 PORT it will permanently run at speed of USB 2. (Please Enlighten me)

Unfortunately I have two external HD that has USB 2 and USB 3. I checked the System Information and found out that 1 USB Port is running at USB 2 Speed? Im not good at deciphering technical stuffs but Im trying my best. Any replies is appreciated! Thanks!

User uploaded fileUser uploaded file

Posted on Jul 2, 2014 4:59 PM

2 replies

Jul 2, 2014 5:40 PM in response to Niel

Thanks! appreciate the reply, although Im more on the One HD plug-in to the Ports and not Hubs/Groups.

I read and tested some and found an answer. For those who has the same question, this may be a clear answer.