Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Really really unresponsive Mac Mini running Mavericks

Hello,

I have a Mac Mini which I have been using as a media centre for roughly 18 months. It has been used to serve media to my Apple TV, to store family photos, very occasional browsing and nothing else. I now want to use it to do this but also be used as the computer on which my children do their homework and browse the web. I have set up user accounts for two children plus one each for me and the missus along with the family one for the ATV.

From the get go each user account was really hard to use, very slow to open windows, software, anything really. I deleted and remade accounts, even performed a clean install from the recovery partition but nothing has changed. Right now if I try to open Safari for example from the dock it bounces once and doesn't open. If I click on it again I get the error bonk sound. Clicking on the Apple menu, or anything really, instantly brings on the beach ball of doom for around 30 seconds. Short of flattening the whole thing does anyone have any ideas? Could I have picked up a virus?

Posted on Jul 10, 2014 8:26 AM

10 replies

Jul 10, 2014 9:08 AM in response to arthur

Here you go.

EtreCheck version: 1.9.12 (48)

Report generated 10 July 2014 16:59:44 BST

Hardware Information:

Mac mini (Late 2012) (Verified)

Mac mini - model: Macmini6,1

1 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5 CPU: 2 cores

4 GB RAM

Video Information:

Intel HD Graphics 4000 - VRAM: (null)

M2762D spdisplays_1080p

System Software:

OS X 10.9.4 (13E28) - Uptime: 2 days 2:23:50

Disk Information:

APPLE HDD HTS545050A7E362 disk0 : (500.11 GB)

EFI (disk0s1) <not mounted>: 209.7 MB

Macintosh HD (disk0s2) / [Startup]: 499.25 GB (163.42 GB free)

Recovery HD (disk0s3) <not mounted>: 650 MB

USB Information:

Mitsumi Electric Apple Optical USB Mouse

Apple Inc. BRCM20702 Hub

Apple Inc. Bluetooth USB Host Controller