Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Why does "Other" category constantly increase in size on iMac hard drive?

Hello 🙂

I am new to Macs and bought my iMac a couple of years ago. Since that time, I have not installed any programs and have all of my photos, music, and documents on an external hard drive. Whenever I use my computer, I mainly use iTunes, Safari,and DVD player, though not all at once. I also do not use the Mail app and currently have Time Machine turned off. So, for the most part, I try to keep my usage minimal and maintain it properly (i.e., installing new updates, emptying the trash, not using any anti-virus programs, etc.).

As of today, I have 485.77 GB free out of 499.25 GB on my hard drive. It might seem silly to even bring up this topic, since space is not really something I have to worry about at this time; however, I do get concerned about the constant increase of the "Other" space. As I have already mentioned, I do not have any other apps/programs installed aside from the ones that originally came with the computer, and all other categories do not change in size.

This is my first time submitting a question, and I have tried my best to search the help community for answers. Although I have come across many discussions closely related to this topic and have tried to read different websites--such as http://pondini.org/OSX/DiskSpace.html--I still feel frustrated that I still don't know what's going on. 😕 Could anyone explain why this is happening with the "Other" category? Is there a way to prevent it?

I know little about computers and even less about Macs, so I would appreciate any help. 🙂 Also, I have copied down some information that might be helpful to know. Please let me know if there's anything else I can provide. Thank you!

Mac OS X

Version 10.7.5

Processor: 2.5 GHz Intel Core 15

Memory: 4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3

Storage:

Audio 4.3 MB

Movies 42.3 MB

Photos 133.7 MB