Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Searching for Remote access solution

Hi, I'm new to Apple Support Communities and wanted to reply to a post by Tesselax to ask for clarification about this subject.

My situation is that I have 4 iMac's on a small network. We have our work files stored on a Synology NAS in the office so all iMacs can access them. I can get remote access to the NAS when I'm out of office, which is great. The iMacs and the office NAS all back up to a bigger NAS which is in a separate building, so that in case of fire etc we won't lose the work files.

So it's all working well, except that ... it's killing me that I can't Spotlight search my thousands of work documents. I often want to find a section of text that may have been written 5 years ago about a subject I'm working on now. If I use EasyFind to search the NAS, it's a slow grind like a typical Windows search. Too slow to be practical.

I really want to achieve these 2 criteria:

the ability to spotlight search all of my historical work documents, and

remote access to the work documents.

preferably with the work documents stored on a networked drive equally accessible to all iMacs, rather than stored on one of the iMacs.

I know there are lots of solutions out there, but am having trouble working out just what does what, and the pros and cons of each.

I've tried using Back to my Mac and currently (using a wireless internet USB dongle on my Macbook) it's just impossibly slow. And it only works back to my own iMac.

My network uses a good quality Billion router and switch, which is uPnP compatible.

Is it necessary to have an Airport Extreme for remote access to work well?

All advice very much appreciated.

Andrew

Posted on Jul 11, 2014 1:55 AM

2 replies

Jul 11, 2014 3:31 PM in response to andrewvonb

I really want to achieve these 2 criteria:

the ability to spotlight search all of my historical work documents