11 Replies Latest reply: Jul 26, 2014 7:08 AM by Jan Hedlund
Bad Gold Eagle Level 1 Level 1 (20 points)

Hi

I'd like to buy a performa 5200 and make a clean install of OS9. Unfortunately, the disks were lost.

First, is it possible to get OS9 working on this machine? The Apple support page says it can only run 8.0 tops! (Macintosh Performa 5200CD:Technical Specifications)

Second, where can I find such disks? I tried macintoshgarden.org but only found this http://macintoshgarden.org/how-restore-the-performa-software, but the link for the 5200 is dead ;(

Thanks,

Bad Gold Eagle

• Country Girl AK Level 1 Level 1 (5 points)

I have no experience with the Preforma's but I see the software mentioned for sale on the Low End Mac (LEM) swap list. This is not a support group but there are members selling legacy equipment and such

You might find what you desire there

• Jan Hedlund Level 6 Level 6 (9,360 points)

Hi,

The easiest way is of course to buy an original system software CD (or a later appropriate genuine Apple retail system disc). However, if the Performa already has a (temporary) working system installed on its hard disk, but came without system disc/disks, you may have a free (albeit more complicated) option with files from Apple (via the Old Software Downloads list at http://www.info.apple.com/support/oldersoftwarelist.html).

A Disk Tools PPC disk image can be found here :

http://download.info.apple.com/Apple_Support_Area/Apple_Software_Updates/English -North_American/Macintosh/System/Mac_OS_8.1_Update/Disk_Tools_PPC.img.bin

Disk Copy 6.3.3 (the Make a Floppy command under the Utilities menu) is used to create a bootable floppy disk from the disk image:

http://download.info.apple.com/Apple_Support_Area/Apple_Software_Updates/English -North_American/Macintosh/Utilities/Disk_Copy/Disk_Copy_6.3.3.smi.bin

You will find a complete System 7.5.3 here (under http://www.info.apple.com/support/oldersoftwarelist.html#system):