Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

network users not showing up at login screen

Hello, I am new to Server and I have set up an Open Directory setup (using smb for home folders, I heard that it was faster or something somewhere) on my server iMac 27". This iMac is running Mavericks 10.9.4 and the latest version of Server 3. On my client iMac 24", I have bound the server to the iMac, as evidenced by the green dot next to the server IP in System Preferences Users and Groups. The iMac is running Mavericks 10.9.4 as well. For the network accounts, I have chosen to store the home folders on the server itself, so they are not mobile. When I try to log in to the network accounts from the client iMac 24", the "Other..." selection does not appear so that I can input the username and password for the network user. However, I am able to log in to the network accounts just fine from the server iMac 27", as well as another MacBook running Lion 10.7.5. How can I get the "Other..." selection to show up on my login screen so that I am able to log in to the network accounts?

And yes, "Allow network users to log in at the login window" is checked.

iMac, OS X Server, Running Mavericks 10.9.4

Posted on Jul 19, 2014 5:03 PM

4 replies

Jul 19, 2014 5:43 PM in response to delta77thegreat

Many Open Directory problems can be resolved by taking the following steps. Test after each one, and back up all data before making any changes.

1. The OD master must have a static IP address on the local network, not a dynamic address.