Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

My Macbook Pro Gets Hot Is This Normal??

hey there so im new to the macs and have never owned one before i just bought this macbook just a few days ago its the 15 inch late 2013 model ill post the specs below

• 2.3GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo Boost up to 3.5GHz
  • 16GB 1600MHz DDR3L SDRAM
  • 512GB PCIe-based Flash Storage
  • Intel Iris Pro Graphics
  • NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M
    with 2GB GDDR5 memory

my problem is that it gets warm now it gets warm during just normal use itll get warm and when i use programs like logic pro or photohop it gets very warm right above the keyboard and im just worried that there is a problem??

wondering if anyone else has this issue??

MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X Mavericks (10.9.4)

Posted on Jul 28, 2014 9:54 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 28, 2014 10:02 AM

That does not sound like a problem, you are feeling where the cpu and gpu reside. The MacBook Pro uses two ways of removing processor excess heat - the aluminum case and the fans. The case is a great heat sink, but with heavy duty processor loads needs help and then the fans start increasing speed as needed to keep up. If the heat load gets too much the processor starts to run back the clock speed.

The processor temperature limit is very high, well above 100 degrees so unless your MBP is too hot to touch you are fine. Gamers complain about this regularly because they are imposing a REALLY high heat load from the cpu and discrete gpu.

So, the question becomes, do you hear the fans running fast? If not, you are not even hot enough to load up the fans.

11 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jul 28, 2014 10:02 AM in response to codyrsmith