Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Using a video slug vs. changing video clips's opacity to zero

I'm self taught on FCP and in editing my first documentary, did not know the best way to remove the video portion of a clip while retaining the audio.

To be able to view the archival stills/video I was using instead of the original video I just changed the video portion of the clips' opacity to zero.

I've since learned that it's standard to remove the video portion of the clip and replace it with a video slug.

The one-hour film plays fine on the FCP timeline, and translates to DVD without any issues. I'm now faced with creating a Digital Cinema Package for

festival exhibition and wonder should I go through and replace any video that is not to be seen with slugs instead. (I shot in and then edited on a DVCPro HD

1080i60 timeline so the entire project will have to be transcoded to 23.98fps by the post facility prior to DCP creation.)

I'm just wondering if replacing the video under archival media with slugs will help make the transcoding from 29.97fps to 23.98fps go more smoothly and quickly.

Obviously, it will take some time to replace all these clips with slugs but it's worth it to me for a better end product.

Thanks

Posted on Aug 2, 2014 11:19 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 2, 2014 1:48 PM