Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I use IF to generate values

HI,

i'm a massive newbie to using spreadsheets and set myself a task to learn a thing or two.

Using Numbers, I want to create a football league formula whereby I submit the score in two different cells and I can then generate a W/L/D value in a third cell. I'm sure this is embarrassingly easy...

Also, I want to reference a value in a cell in a different sheet, but none if the formulas I looked at seem to work - any ideas?!

im using the beta version, if that makes any difference?!

thanks!

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.5.8)

Posted on Aug 6, 2014 3:38 PM

8 replies

Aug 6, 2014 6:02 PM in response to ryanbrown_6

Ryan,

These are basic spreadsheet operations which you will find simple as you come to know them better.

Let's say that team A's score is in Column A and team B's score is in column B. In column C, you could write an expression that gives you the W/L/D result from team A's perspective if you write:

=IF(A>B, "W", IF(B>A, "L", "D"))

In English: IF A's score is greater than B's, then the result is "W", else IF B's score is greater than A's, then the result is "L", else the result is "D".

To reference a cell in another Sheet, you just need to include the Sheet name in the cell reference, followed by a double colon. For instance, a reference to cell A1 in sheet Fred would be written: =Fred::A1.

Regards,

Jerry

Aug 6, 2014 6:06 PM in response to ryanbrown_6

Hi ryan,

here is one approach:

User uploaded file

The formula in D2=IF(C2>C3,"win",IF(C2<C3,"loss","draw")

D3=IF(D2="draw",D2,IF(D2="win","loss","win"))

Select both D2 and D3, grab the yellow dot and drag down to fill.

User uploaded file

Here is your stats table.

B2=COUNTIFS(Table 1::$B,$A2,Table 1::$D,"=win")

I dragged this across and then modified the formula in the losses and draws columns ("=loss" in losses, etc..)