Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Error when adding iCloud email account to Mac Mail

Hi,

I have an older MacBook with Mac OS X Version 10.6.8

I have an iCloud email account set up on my iPhone, which I would like to add to my Mac mail. When I try to add this account the following error comes up once I have typed in the email and password:

The icloud.com IMAP server “Automatically added for iOS & OS X Mail” is not responding. Try checking the network connection, and that the server name is correct. Otherwise, the server might be temporarily unavailable. If you continue, you might not be able to receive messages.

Can someone explain what this means? I am not an expert so in simple terms please!

Thanks

MacBook, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted on Aug 10, 2014 6:48 AM

3 replies

Aug 12, 2014 6:52 AM in response to kirstyb18

Hi kirstyb18,

To add an iCloud account to your Mail application when running Mac OS X 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard) you will want to follow the directions in this article -

iCloud: Configuring Mail with Mac OS X v10.6 or iOS 4

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5330

Specifically -

1. Open Mail.
  2. Choose File > Add Account. (If this is the first time you've opened Mail, you'll be automatically prompted to add an account).
  3. Enter your full name, email address, and password. Then, option-Click Create to continue.
  4. For Account type, select IMAP. Then, enter a relevant description (for example, "Emily Parker's iCloud account").
  5. Enter your Incoming Mail Server, User Name, and Password using the following settings:
    • Incoming Mail Server: mail.me.com
    • User Name: Your iCloud email address (excluding @me.com)

Password: Your password

6. Click Continue to proceed.
  7. Enter a description, such as "iCloud Outgoing Server."
  8. For the Outgoing Mail Server, enter: smtp.me.com.