Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Problems with old iPhone as iPod

I've been using an old iPhone as an iPod for the last 2-3 months. I've been using iMessages on it and it has been working fine up until today. All of a sudden not getting any iMessages on it. I tried turning off iMessages and then back on...didn't work. I did a hard reboot...didn't work. What can I do to get it working again?

iPhone 5s, iOS 7.1.2

Posted on Aug 11, 2014 5:07 PM

11 replies

Aug 14, 2014 10:54 AM in response to cpsaucedo

Hey cpsaucedo,

Thanks for the question. I understand you are experiencing issues with iMessage on an iPhone that is being used without a wireless plan. The following resource provides troubleshooting steps that my help to resolve your issue. Follow the steps as you would for an iPod touch:

iOS: Troubleshooting Messages

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS2755

Please note that if you end up needing to back up and restore your device, you’ll want to consider the information outlined in this resource:

Using an iPhone without a wireless service plan

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3406

Thanks,

Matt M.

Oct 22, 2014 7:55 PM in response to micahd

From the same support document linked above: iOS: Troubleshooting FaceTime and iMessage activation

When you enable FaceTime or iMessage with an iPad or iPod touch, you need to enter a valid Apple ID and password. Other users will be able to contact you on FaceTime and iMessage using this email address.

If that does not work, then review additional steps in the support document listed above.

Oct 23, 2014 9:01 PM in response to ChrisJ4203