Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Help with Mac Notes

This is not key notes, its the regular notes application that comes with Mac i didnt know where to ask this.

I am very new to mac.

I was using the "notes" application to write down a book ive been working on (stupid i know).

Today I decided It was really imporant I back this up.

So I highlighted about 40 pages I had written, and clicked copy, but somehow must of accidentally hit paste, and I literarily lost hundreds of hours of work.....

I understand how stupid it was to type this out in notes......

I looked for a undo button but cant find one, is there any type of history anywhere with this program? i cant even begin to express how important this is.

Any help is GREATLY appreciated, can anything be done at all?

I dont have time machine

Posted on Aug 17, 2014 2:49 AM

6 replies

Aug 17, 2014 3:31 AM in response to Raven2700

This is very unfortunate that you used Notes.

Its used to make short scribbles, like a shopping list, and used just like these sticky yellow pads of paper that you stick everywhere.

There is an undo in: Edit > Undo Typing, but this has to be done before closing the application or changing to a different note, when this is done the text is overwritten. and can't be reclaimed. As you have no back up, start again using the Pages application.

Aug 17, 2014 3:36 AM in response to Gary Scotland

Yeah... I was in the processing of trying to save my stuff onto a external hardrive but enstead of hitting copy I hit paste, and it made a new note over the one I was using.

Doing this in the terminal:

into the cd ~/Library/Containers/com.apple.Notes/Data/Library/Notes; strings NotesV1.storedata | grep body | open -f \

brings up all your notes, is there a way to change the pathway so it brings up your notes for a couple hours ealyier?

Aug 17, 2014 3:57 AM in response to Gary Scotland

Ugh that deffanilty is really sad.