Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

turn off the display but prevent sleep

Hello,

I am new to the Mac OS system and am facing a difficulty.

I want to keep my macbook running through the night downloading the updates, however I want the display to be off. For this I have used apps like caffeine and no sleep and have also modified the system preferences. But still whenever I turn off my display, after some time the macbook goes to sleep and all my downloads and updates are paused.

Is there any workaround which allows me to turn off the display without letting the mac to go to sleep ??

MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X Mavericks (10.9.4)

Posted on Aug 26, 2014 2:26 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 2, 2017 10:53 AM

Have a look at the caffeinate command.

Multiple use cases are already on the internet so google it...🙂 I use this command to run long processes without my mac going to sleep. For the options use man caffeinate.

12 replies

Aug 26, 2014 3:35 AM in response to bhargav17

Yes there is.

You can use the command Ctrl + Shift + Eject which just puts the display to sleep but the Mac will carry on running. I do this quite often so I added a hot corner to put the display to sleep. This is in System Preferences > Desktop and Screen Saver > Screen Saver > Hot Corners and then you can just choose the corner and select Put display to sleep or any other commands.

Hope this helps! 🙂

Aug 26, 2014 3:51 AM in response to bhargav17

Have you tried the energy saving setting that controls the hard drive sleep, and set it to Never?

Then it won't matter the minutes display is set to wait until sleep, so long as it's not also never.

If there is a problem with this not working, you may check into an SMC reset; or perhaps also

the NVRAM/PRAM, as one or both may be in control over some aspect of this (dys)function.

•Intel-based Macs: Resetting the System Management Controller (SMC)