Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How can I get iPhoto backup to open as main library?

This is probably my first mistake- I only copy and pasted my iPhoto icon to my external drive- and it opened and I saw all my photo's and streams. So being a newbie I figured it worked.

I reinstalled OS X Mavericks because I wanted to start fresh. Now, using my external hard drive, I can't open the pasted "iPhoto"- a message pops up saying

"Caution: The iPhoto Library is a Time Machine backup, and so cannot be used as the main library. Reopen iPhoto with the option key held down to choose another library."

There is no other library I want, nor need- I need that one- it has my last year basically of my children- one of them who is going to pass from terminal cancer. I need a miracle. Nerds?! Geeks?! I NEED YOU! 😟

MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2011), OS X Mavericks (10.9.4)

Posted on Sep 9, 2014 9:01 PM

12 replies

Sep 9, 2014 9:10 PM in response to kelseyhasnoclue

Your post is not clear and is very confusing

1 -- there is an iPhoto Application that is located in your Applications folder and an iPhoto library that by default is located in your Pictures folder - which one did you copy and paste?

2 - the error you are reporting indicates that you are trying to open a Time Machine backup - this can not be opened - it is created by the TimeMachine program and it must be restored using the Time Machine application - Mac Basics: Time Machine backs up your Mac -

3 - If you copied and pasted something it is not a TimeMachine backup - It is a copy and it would need to be drug to the pictures folder and then you launch iPhoto

so we need to know exactly what you have and what you did including the version of iPhoto that you have

LN

Sep 10, 2014 10:07 AM in response to LarryHN

I'll try to be more helpful: