Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Help! Installed Bootcamp on iMac and now I can no longer access my Mac OS!

Hi ALL,

I'm hoping someone can help... I installed Windows 8 64bit on my 27" iMac and downloaded all recommended drivers. However, now I can only load the Windows partition.

I've tried restarting my computer and have pressed 'option' when restarts and the only harddrive option available is EFI Boot and if I click that it just loads Windows 8.

I've never used Bootcamp before and I'm slightly concerned I have somehow wiped my Mac OS off my computer. As I type I am on Windows Internet Explorer - it's a dark time!

What I'm asking is how do I get my mac hard drive to appear / my mac OS to load back up and not windows? 😟

iMac, OS X Mavericks (10.9.4)

Posted on Sep 10, 2014 2:05 PM

12 replies

Sep 10, 2014 2:12 PM in response to JodElite

You will need to reinstall OS X:

Reinstall Lion, Mountain Lion, or Mavericks without erasing drive

Boot to the Recovery HD:

Restart the computer and after the chime press and hold down the COMMAND and R keys until the menu screen appears. Alternatively, restart the computer and after the chime press and hold down the OPTION key until the boot manager screen appears. Select the Recovery HD and click on the downward pointing arrow button.

Repair