Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iOS8 had messed up my APN?

Hi, I was just wondering if anyone can shed some light for me as I'm having a really difficult time trying to get my phone to connect to cellular data after updating to iOS 8 a few days ago. Basically I strongly think it has something to do with the APN except after updating to iOS 8 the APN settings in cellular data had disappeared and I'm at a loss on how find it. My phone is an unlocked iPhone 5s with a pre-paid card from NTTdocomo Japan. I saw from one of the support pages from apple saying that "If your carrier allows it, you can view the APN settings on your iOS device in Settings > Cellular > Cellular Data Network." Does this mean that my carrier docomo is not ready for iOS 8 or are my carrier settings removed and I need to update and instal them somehow? Sorry if I don't make sense anymore as I'm new to APNs (if thats really the problem.) The error message that pop's up when I open my safari browser is "PDP authentication failure."

iPhone 5s, iOS 8

Posted on Sep 19, 2014 8:58 AM

5 replies

Sep 22, 2014 8:59 AM in response to Jonathan002

Hey there Jonathan002,

It sounds like you are not able to see any APN settings and cannot connect to your cellular service after updating to iOS 8. I have an article for you that should help you get that resolved, named:

iPhone: Troubleshooting a cellular data connection

Follow these steps for help troubleshooting cellular data issues on your iPhone. After performing each step, please test to see if the issue is resolved.

1. Toggle airplane mode: Tap Settings, turn airplane mode on, wait three seconds, and then turn off again.
  2. Restart your iPhone.
  3. Make sure that your software is up to date:
  4. Remove the SIM Card and reinsert it. Allow the iPhone to acquire the network again.
  5. If your SIM card has SIM PIN enabled, try turning it off: Tap Settings > Phone > SIM PIN.