Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Audio dropouts: "clipIfNecessary" Console messages

[I mistakenly posted this in the "Mountain Lion" community but the forum software refused to let me move the message to the Mavericks forum ("you are not authorized")! It also refused to let me delete the message (this was about one minute after I posted it – so here it is again, in the correct community!]

I know there are a few questions regarding this issue already up here but there are no definitive (or close to definitive) answers yet so think of this as a bump. I'm a musician making my living playing gigs with a laptop rig. I've been doing this very successfully with three different laptops over the last almost nine years – until now. My current laptop is a 15" Retina MBP (late 2013). I'll be playing and suddenly the audio will drop out entirely or turn to fuzz. This only lasts about a second or two, then it comes back. It's very intermittent which makes the troubleshooting almost impossible. I can go three or four gigs with perfect audio. When it does happen it tends to only happen once per gig. I make a note of the time, then check the system log in Console and always see hundreds (sometimes over 1200) of these same messages at the exact time the audio broke up:

kernel[0] IOAudioStream[0xffffff801eb25800]::clipIfNecessary() - Error: attempting to clip to a position more than one buffer ahead of last clip position (5c5f,3aa8)->(5c60,3fa4).

kernel[0] IOAudioStream[0xffffff801eb25800]::clipIfNecessary() - adjusting clipped position to (5c60,3aa8)