Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

MainStage 3 freezing up while playing

I am running MainStage 3 on a new Macbook Pro purchased in June. 2.4 GHz, Intel Core i5, 8GB memory, OS X 10.9.5. I am pretty new to the mac world, and brand new to MainStage and controller keyboards, so forgive my ignorance.

The main issue I have been having is after having MainStage opened up for a few minutes and playing, it will just freeze up. The sound will be sustained, and the keys shown on MainStage are still pressed down even though I am not still playing anything. I have programmed a panic button, and pressing that stops the sound, but then the keyboard I am playing won't play. If I disconnect the USB cable from the computer to the keyboard, and re-connect, it solves the problem. It's back to normal and plays fine. Then rinse and repeat in about 10 seconds, or 10 minutes. It's completely random, but it will happen again.

Anyone have any clue as to what is going on? I am a worship leader and use this for Sunday morning worship. This past Sunday it happened 5 or 6 times during the set. It is beyond frustrating. I mentioned this on a Facebook group dedicated to MS users, and someone mentioned turning off auto-save, and only playing in performance mode. It helped at first, but didn't fix it.

Does it sound like a MainStage issue? Mac issue? Keyboard issue? (it's a newish 61 Novation Impulse).

MacBook Pro with Retina display, OS X Mavericks (10.9.5)

Posted on Oct 7, 2014 8:58 AM

4 replies

Oct 10, 2014 8:47 AM in response to Josh Glover