Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Native Photos App, Slow... No, I mean really slow.

I am a working photographer and bought the iPad 3 (Retina Display) nearly two years ago and use it only for culling/sorting my photos taken with my digital cameras (Nikon D700 and Nikon D4) by connecting the camera to the iPad with the camera connection kit, transferring the RAW photos to the iPad, then swipe - next, swipe - delete etc... it worked flawlessly, intuitively and so smoothly on every single iOS update prior to iOS 8. I could go through hundreds of photos in less than 20 minutes getting rid of the ones I did not want. After updating to iOS 8, then 8.0.1, then 8.0.2 then finally 8.1 today, the problem keeps getting worse and worse! Now the experience is this: Open Photos App (fast), find my collection (fast), touch the first (or any) photo in the collection (wait about 3-4 seconds before it will open), swipe to next photo (wait 3-4 seconds) and choppy the entire transition. Very frustrating! I cannot get any work done this way. Now, because the sole purpose of me buying this device was for culling photos, it's pretty much useless to me because of a very poorly designed and tested update. Please fix this, or at least let users go back to iOS 7!

Thanks,

Very unhappy customer.

iPad 2, iOS 8.1, I believe this is actually iPad 3.

Posted on Oct 20, 2014 2:55 PM

13 replies

Oct 20, 2014 3:33 PM in response to Korado

I would initially suspect RAM. I would quit all other apps, well ... just quit them all ... and the power down (the power button). Start back up again and then go right to the Photos app and try it out. If that doesn't do it, then it's probably not the RAM.

If that doesn't do it, then I would go for a reinstall of the Photos app, though a reset to factory default by iTunes.

Back up and Restore your iOS Device with iCloud or iTunes