Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Why does my new air iPad smell

Why does my new air iPad smell bad? It works fine & I didn't notice the smell until it had been on for several hours. It is also plugged in.

iPad Air, iOS 7.0.6

Posted on Oct 21, 2014 12:46 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 21, 2014 12:48 AM

What does it smell like ? 😕

5 replies

Feb 18, 2015 6:15 AM in response to susanfromstanwood

I'm a computer tech and this week I helped a customer select and purchase a new iPad Air 2 to replace her worn out iPad 2. The Air is a beautiful piece of technology but around 15 hours after I finished setting it up and handed it over to its new owner, she called me to complain that the device had developed a noxious smell. The customer described the smell as being like formaldehyde or a similar chemical. Although some people she had asked to "sniff" her iPad didn't smell anything or only perceived a slight "new electronics" smell, my customer was overpowered by the odor and was unable to stay in the same room with her new iPad.

I smelled the device myself and, in fact, did detect a chemical odor that seemed to be coming from the vents just below the home button. I played audio files continuously on iPad for several hours and noted that it did not heat up and everything else about it, including battery power and consumption, seemed fine. The odor persisted, though, and while it didn't increase, it also didn't go away. I searched and searched on the internet for some possible cause for the problem but no luck.