Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Static/white noise when recording real instrument

Hello,

I'm relatively new to Logic Pro X but not to recording per se.

I'm recording from an electric guitar with an amp mic'd up to a Presonus interface. My MacBook Pro is mid-2014 with 8GB RAM. Whenever I hit record, I hear the guitar fine through my headphones. But when I play it back, it is either laden with static or completely static.

I've done a lot of troubleshooting but haven't found the answer. It's not a problem with my hardware -- I fired up my old 2009 Macbook and recorded to Garageband and it worked fine.

On the other hand, recording to Logic via my built-in input works fine. Therefore I think the problem must lie in Logic's interaction with my Presonus interface. Although the problem persists in Garageband and Studio One 2 (the free software that accompanied my interface).

I read on another forum, where someone was experiencing a similar problem, that the answer lay in a bug caused by having both Logic and another DAW installed, if that helps.

Basically I've hit a brick wall and would appreciate any advice!!

Thanks,

Patrick

Airport Express-OTHER

Posted on Nov 15, 2014 2:45 PM

14 replies

Nov 15, 2014 3:36 PM in response to pftodd

P.S.: running Yosemite on my Pro, so technically the driver for my Audiobox is out of date. But, quoting from the Audiobox website: "AudioBox USB is a class compliant core audio device. No driver installation is necessary under OSX 10.4 or above. Simply plug in your AudioBox USB to a USB port on your Mac, then select it in your preferred DAW and record."

Nov 15, 2014 5:05 PM in response to pftodd