Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Are 4GB RAM & i5 enough?

I am planning to buy the Macbook Air 13".

I have a bad experience with my old laptop very slow. (it's Windows by the way)

So im gonna switch to Mac, but im not sure whether the 4GB RAM combined with the i5 processor is enough

I have been looking at some HP laptops as well, even though most of them have more RAM, most of them have HDD.

I'm a college student so i'm mostly gonna use it to write essays etc. beside that it's basic browsing, making music in Garageband

So it all comes down to the question if the RAM and the i5 are enough...

and in your experience does the battery drain fast? it says 12 hours on apple's website but with time the battery drains faster, does this happen very fast or does the battery still last long after let's say a year

P.s. If someone could give me 3 reasons to fully go apple would be great 😝

Posted on Nov 17, 2014 2:27 PM

4 replies

Nov 17, 2014 2:36 PM in response to Jaaydee95

4 GBs of RAM may prove sufficient today, but will it be 2, 3, 4 years from now. I would opt for 8 GBs. You cannot upgrade RAM in the new laptops so you are stuck with what you get. Get more than you need so you won't be stuck when you do need it. The i5 processor is quite adequate. It's not possible to say anything about battery life because it is entirely dependent upon how you use the computer and the battery.

About Batteries in Modern Apple Laptops

Battery University

Apple - Batteries - Notebooks

Apple - Batteries

Extending the Life of Your Laptop Battery

MacBook and MacBook Pro- Mac reduces processor speed when battery is removed while operating from an A-C adaptor

Apple Portables- Calibrating your computer's battery for best performance

Mac notebooks- Determining battery cycle count