Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Mainstage 3 and Kontakt Player 5 - CPU issues

Hey there!

I am new to Mainstage 3 and I totally love the way it lets musicians focus on making music live. I have spent a great deal of time to optimize the software for my needs and I have come across one issue that I could not solve. Maybe you can help:

I want to use Mainstage mainly for vocal effects and piano. Although I think that the Mainstage pianos are quite nice in their price class I want to use my Galaxy Vintage D piano that runs via Kontakt Player 5 by Native Instruments. Thing now is: When I open up Mainstage and use it solely for vocal effects and at the same time open up Kontakt Player 5 and use it as stand-alone for piano my Macbook Pro faces no problems. CPU is the bottleneck I guess (Intel Core Duo 2) but RAM should be fine (8 GB) and my SSD also improves performance I hope. So, when I open up both softwares separately there are no problems here.

When I try to play my Vintage D piano within Mainstage 3 by creating a software instrument, selecting Kontakt Player 5 and open the Vintage D library Mainstage 3 fails badly. After playing 2 or 3 (!!) tones my CPU crashes and it is impossible to play. Why is that and what can I do here? I mean, opened up separately both softwares work just fine at the same time, but my piano is not included in Mainstage 3 😟 And when I include it my CPU crashes. So there is a huuuuuuuuuge difference in performance I cannot explain. Maybe some of you face similar problems and know what to do? I tried to play aroung with audio settings a little, but I didn't succeed.

Thanks for your support!

MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010), OS X Yosemite (10.10), 8 GB RAM and SSD

Posted on Nov 18, 2014 2:43 AM

11 replies

Nov 18, 2014 3:39 AM in response to CCTM